David Page - page turner

NWUK member David Page - pen name Harry Riley - featured in a nice article in the Nottingham Post. They got his age wrong - David is a mere 73 - but highlighted the fact that his book Sins of the Father has been entered into this autumn's The People's Book Prize.  
Voting is now taking place, in time for the Nov 30th closing date, via this link

Self-Publishing - the nuts and bolts

Nuts and Bolts of Self-Publishing with award winning self-published author Georgia Twynham

Writing East Midlands and Leicester Writers Club presents:

Nuts and Bolts of Self-Publishing with award winning self-published author Georgia Twynham

When: 19th September 2013 7pm- 9pm
Where: The Satta Hashem Hall, Leicester Adult Education College, Wellington Street, Leicester, LE1 6HL
Cost: £4 for non-members of Leicester Writer Club, free for members of Leicester Writers Club
Are you tired of being rejected by mainstream publishers? Read some amazing self-published books recently and thought – I could do that? Do you have an idea you would love to see on the pages of your very own book and in the hands of readers all over the world without the delay of the publishing industry?
Come and meet Georgia Twynham – acclaimed self-published author of The Thirteenth Series find out what it’s really like to be self-published and successful. Georgia will discuss how you can stay in control of the publishing process and find new ways of reaching your readership. Let her guide you through all the pitfalls and give you all her hints and tips from day one, right through to the finished copy. Hear all about her success with marketing and how to get readers and keep them.
A great source of inspiration and information for any budding author.
There will be a Q & A session and the chance to network with likeminded writers and industry processionals.
For more information on this event please email or call
01159 59 79 29
This workshop is brought to you as part of the Writing East Midlands, Routes to Writing series. Routes to Writing is the Writer Development programme at the heart of what we do, providing opportunities for emerging, mid-career and established writers to develop their craft. For more information please see
For more information on Leicester Writers Club please see

About Georgia Twynham

When Georgia had the idea to write a six-book series, she never stopped to question if it was possible to make it a success. She just wanted to write her stories and wait to see if her readers enjoyed them.
Her first book in The Thirteenth series, entitled The Thirteenth, has not only sold in the thousands but has won the Lincolnshire Young People’s Book Award 2010, alongside David Walliams’ Mr Stinky. After high demand from children and adults alike, she released the second and third books in the series, The Turncoats and Nyteria Rising to even greater reviews – which took second place in the Lincolnshire Young Peoples Book Award 2013.
In recognition of her success and her ever growing fan base of avid readers and over 10,500 Facebook fans, Georgia was approached by AudioGo, home of the BBC audiobook, who have purchased the audio rights to the first three books in her series. These are now available in the UK and USA.
Waterstones, having seen the potential in her debut novel, now hold all three books in the series in circa one hundred stores across the UK. She has taken part in many signing events at some of their largest stores, including multiple events at their Nottingham and Manchester flagship stores, and was there to help re-launch the children’s section in the Manchester Deansgate store in the run-up to Christmas.
Having numerous BBC radio interviews under her belt, she was delighted to be invited to take part in the BBC Radio 2 Jeremy Vine show. This exposure, coupled with more than fifty-five newspaper and magazine articles; not to mention her tireless promotional work with schools, libraries and book sellers, has inspired Georgia to keep working on completing The Thirteenth series for her fans.


The Westbrook Affair - special offer

The Westbrook Affair
the new novel by A R Dance
(author of Narrow Marsh & Leen Times)

Set in Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire in the mid-nineteenth century, The Westbrook Affair chronicles the lives of families from opposite ends of the social divide. It is a gripping story of poverty and wealth, betrayal and greed and ultimately the search for justice and the truth.

Young Joseph Lambert has enjoyed all the childhood privileges befitting the son of a wealthy Yorkshire squire. But when his widowed father is mysteriously killed in a riding accident, his comfortable world is suddenly torn apart. Joseph’s elder brother, the dissolute and self-indulgent Miles, inherits the estate and promptly abandons his young brother, leaving him to fend for himself.

Determined to seek his fortune, the thirteen-year-old orphan makes his way to Sheffield where he secures an apprenticeship in a cutlery factory. Seven years later, now an accomplished and skilled craftsman, he marries Hannah and soon a daughter, Eliza, is born. But barely is Eliza old enough to know her father, when tragedy strikes. Hannah is struggling to support herself and her daughter, when one day an old lady arrives with an astonishing tale to tell.

And slowly, a forgotten family secret begins to unfold.

The Westbrook Affair is published by Arundel Books and will be available to purchase from the beginning of October. Paperback, 288 pages £7.99. Available to order from all good bookshops, or via Amazon. ISBN 978-0-9558133-5-1



Until 31st December 2013 you can purchase copies for just £6.99 each, post free direct from the publisher. Please send cheques to:

Arundel Books, 2 Audon  Avenue, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 4AW